Narrabri Shire Council

Introduction to Local Government

Local Government is one of the 3 tiers of government in Australia, the others being the State Government and the Federal Government.
Each Council is governed by a group of elected members called Councillors. Councillors are elected directly by the community, and are therefore directly responsible to the local electors. Narrabri Shire Council has 9 elected members. 

Councillors are elected for a 4 year term Councillors vote each year for the roles of Mayor and Deputy Mayor. The position of Mayor is for a two year term and Deputy Mayor is a term of one year. The Mayoral Election is held at the September Council meeting of each year.