Narrabri Shire Council

Welcome to the Narrabri Shire Council Media Centre

All media releases from Council's website are archived in this area.

General Media enquiries can be directed to Council's Communications Coordinator on (02) 6799 6836 or email

Your Council

Every week Council produces a half page advertorial in the local newspaper - The Courier. You can download copies of this community update below.

January 28 2016

February 18 2016

March 10 2016

March 31 2016

April 7 2016

April 14 2016

April 21 2016

April 28 2016

May 5 2016

May 12 2016

May 19 2016

May 26 2016

June 2 2016

June 9 2016

 June 16 2016

 June 23 2016

 June 30 2016

 July 7 2016

 July 14 2016

 July 21 2016

 July 28 2016

 August 4 2016

 August 11 2016

 August 25 2016

 September 1 2016

 September 8 2016

 September 15 2016

 September 22 2016

 September 29 2016

 October 6 2016

 October 13 2016

 October 20 2016

 October 27 2016

 November 3 2016

 November 10 2016

 November 16 2016

 November 24 2016

 December 1 2016

 December 8 2016

 December 15 2016

 December 22 2016

 January 5 2017

 January 12 2017

 January 19 2017

 January 25 2017





News for 2017

View Archive by Year: 2015 2016 2017
Australia Day Award Winners Announced (30-Jan-17)

 The annual Australia Day awards are an excellent opportunity for the community to officially recognise the achievements of community members and groups who make a significant contribution to the Narrabri Shire community or have achieved exceptional results in sporting or cultural endeavours.

This year, Council received nominations in the categories of Young Citizen of the Year – Secondary, Community Event of the Year and Australia Day Citizen of the Year.

A single but very worthy nomination for Young Citizen of the Year – Secondary was received. This nomination was for Jared Hoffman who was nominated for assisting others including his grandparents and pensioners, giving his time to positively contribute to the mental health of those in his community.

“It is these small and selfless acts of kindness that make a community what it is,” stated Mayor Cathy Redding. “This is why Jared was a very worthy nominee and winner of this category.”

Community Event of the Year received three nominations including the 2016 Narrabri & District Chamber of Commerce Business Awards for its once again successful “sell out” event in 2016 recognising local business, Skid N Cruz Motorshow for its all ages event that provides entertainment and rides for the community and the SFX Rainbow Run run by St Francis Xavier’s Primary School Parents & Friends Association which raised $10,000 for the school to purchase equipment.

“The Community Event of the Year for 2017 is the Skid N Cruz Motorshow,” stated Mayor Cathy Redding. “I congratulate them on their continued success in bringing this great event to our community.”

The Australia Day Citizen of the Year received 7 nominees who had all contributed greatly to the Narrabri Shire community. These nominees were;

Patricia Lettice who has provided a home for 18 foster children and currently works as the Aboriginal Liaison Officer at Narrabri Public School. She teaches traditional aboriginal language and has been a strong campaigner against domestic violence.

Gemma Ferguson who was nominated for her involvement in several different local organisations including Relay for Life, Nosh on the Namoi and the Narrabri Youth Shack.

Amanda Wales who was nominated for her role as executive member of Can-Assist and Cancer Support as well as co-chair of Narrabri’s Relay for Life. Amanda’s passion for fundraising often plays an integral role in the success of an event.

Anne Rae was nominated for her role as an active volunteer in the Narrabri area for most of her life. She has been involved in many organisations including Narrabri Pony Club, Bushman’s Carnival, Riding for the Disabled, Narrabri Toastmasters and Meals on Wheels.

Julie Dowleans was nominated for her contribution to the local community. She has been involved in many organisations including Meals on Wheels and the Garden Club in Wee Waa, 2MaxFM, Relay for Life and the Namoi Echo Museum.

Lee Parish was nominated for joining the Burrumbuttock Hay Runners and used his own truck to cart hay to the drought stricken Queensland Farmers. Lee donated 180 large round bales to the cause and is always willing to help the farming community.

Veronica Dewar was nominated for her efforts in volunteering for Narrabri Meals on Wheels and the Hospital Auxiliary Kiosk. Veronica has been involved in fundraising endeavours to assist these community services as well as Narrabri District Tennis Club.

“It was very difficult for Council to choose the winner of the Australia Day Citizen of the Year Award with so many worthy nominations received this year,” explained Mayor Cathy Redding. “Our decision was to award this year’s Citizen of the Year to Anne Rae who has volunteered with many different organisations across Narrabri Shire. Congratulations to all those commendable nominees for this year’s awards. I congratulate Anne on her award and admire the dedication she has shown to our community.”

Award Winners for the Australia Day Awards

Young Citizen of the Year – Jared Hoffman
Community Event of the Year – Skid N Cruz Motorshow
Citizen of the Year – Anne Rae